Body Building – Legs – Day 22

Day 22

Saturday was another round of legs! I upped the weight on a few of my sets this week. Yay! I honestly didn’t start focusing training on my legs until this past year. I was lucky to have been born with naturally athletic legs. My calves have always been full and my thighs have always been trim. Why work on them? It was only until I began noticing that I was getting a lot more muscle tone in my arms and back, that I realized my legs weren’t keeping up with my upper body anymore.I felt like I wasn’t proportioned. This is pretty common with beginner weight training. I have really enjoyed my journey with leg training and it’s now one of my favorite routines. I love seeing my quads definition when I do leg extensions now. I would like them a little bigger and more defined so I will keep pushing through my leg routines and continue increasing my weights until I get the look I want.

Guess what? I got new shoes! Hip Hip Hooray!I ended up not going for the Pendley’s. I have never tried them on and I didn’t want to order them and end up not liking the fit so I went with Nike Free TR Fit 3. They feel amazing and my foot doesn’t roll when I lift anymore. I love them and am so happy I got them.

What You Should Know About Leg Anatomy

The Glutes

There are three glute muscles: the glute maximus, the glute medius, and the glute minimus. The glute maximus is important for hip extension—think deadlift and hip-dominant variations—but it also gets stimulated the farther down you squat.

Glute-muscles

The Hamstrings

The hamstrings are an oft-forgotten muscle, and I’m not exactly sure why. Maybe it’s simply because the novice strength trainer can’t see their hamstrings in the mirror, so they think they’re not as important as the quads. Well, not only are they important for performance, but well-developed hamstrings help distinguish and separate the front and backsides of the body.

hamstringmuscles

The Quads

The quads are major players in thigh development. I can’t remember one single person in my life that had a great set of legs who didn’t also have amazing quads. Your four quad muscles are the rectus femoris, vastus medialis, vastus lateralis, and the vastus intermedius.

quad-7

Is it worth it? Let me work it.

Leg Extensions – Warm up set  – 50 lbs. – 3 sets x 10 reps

Leg Extensions – Working set – 100 lbs. – 3 sets x 10 reps

Wide Stance Barbell Squat – 115 lbs. – 3 sets x 10 reps

Walking Barbell Lunge – 40 lbs. – 3 sets x 10 reps

Single-Leg Barbell Deadlift – 35 lbs. – 3 sets x 10 reps

Lying Leg Curls – 50 lbs. –  3 sets x 10 reps

Seated Calf Raise – 80 lbs. –  3 sets x 10 reps

Standing Calf Raise –  Had to substitute for calf raises on a seated leg press – 190 lbs. –  3 sets x 10 reps

Seated Leg Presses –  215 lbs. – 3 sets x 10 reps

Leave a Reply

