Body Building – Back and Cardio – Day 29

green

Day 29

This week has been a loss. The last time I went to the gym was Monday, it’s now Friday. I’m pretty disappointed that I haven’t been able to get in the gym the past four days.

This week’s list of excuses:

  • Tuesday & Wednesday – I haven’t seen my 6-year-old son since last week due to travel so I want to spend my evening with him and give him undivided attention. It was also raining like hell so I didn’t want to leave the house.
  • Thursday – It was Halloween and I was requested to be the zombie make up artist.
  • Friday – Had my youngest son again ( it’s my weekend, Yay!). After work I picked him up we hung out together and had dinner etc. I also had to pick my oldest son up from work at 9:00 (waited until 9:20 PM) so that shot my chances for an evening workout.

Tomorrow is chest and cardio. I am going to get in there and try my best to push myself as hard as I can. I am going to need LOUD and HEAVY music to drown out my current state of mind. I need to make up for the four days I missed.

Tuesday’s Back and Cardio Routine

Wide Grip Overhand Pullups – 10 reps x 3  (I have to use the assist machine for now)

Superset:
Bent Over Barbell Row Warm up set — 20 lbs. – 3 sets of 8 reps

Bent Over Barbell Row -Working set – 45 lbs. – 3 sets of 8 reps Up’d 5 lbs from last week

Seated Cable Rows – 60 lbs. – 3 sets of 8 reps
End of superset

Wide-Grip Lat Pulldown – 60 lbs. – 3 sets of 10

One-Arm Dumbbell Row  – 35 lbs. – 3 sets of 8 reps – up 5 lbs

Hammer Strength Lat Pull – 50 pounds each arm -3 sets of 10 reps (5 lbs up from last week)

Hyperextensions –  35 lb plate – 3 sets of 8 reps

Elliptical Trainer – 30 min. –  medium paced

It’s pretty safe to say that other than your legs, your back is one of the biggest and most difficult muscle groups to train. The back incorporates a massive amount of muscles and so ensuring you hit them all efficiently during a workout is essential. This can sometimes be difficult as it’s nearly impossible to see your back while you are training and so your contractions are based purely on feel. Due to there being so many separate muscles and such a vast selection of workouts, this often leads to many people having incomplete and inefficient back workouts. I think the above workout hits a lot of the back in one day. What do you think?

2 responses to “Body Building – Back and Cardio – Day 29

  1. Hi Tab! Love your enthusiasm and approach to fitness! It’s inspiring. You are so right in that the back is such an important, integral, complex system of neuro-muscular synergy! I wanted to add a notion for you to consider…

    think of working your back in an organic all -planes of motion way as well. For example, pulling weight laterally (double side lat pulls, side plank-side pull, lo-hi rows, etc) and even asymmetrical loads (single arm side pull). Keep up your awesome work!!

    • Hi Conn and thanks for writing! I had to look up a high pull. I’ve never done that, but it looks fun! Keep those suggestions coming. I love trying new things! 🙂

Leave a Reply

