Body Building – Chest & Ab Training / Cardio – Day 30

heavy metal

Day 30

I finally got my ass in the gym today and it was great to be back. I love the smell of sweat, tears, and rubber mats. I’ve been surprised how easy doing three sets of ten push-ups are for me lately. I know you’re laughing at me, but I remember not that long ago when I could barely get five pumped out in a row. You might still be there, so no hatin’ here. The body is a pretty amazing thing and it’s pretty incredible that you can shrink, build, strengthen, and even heal it if you put in the effort. I’ve also been fascinated lately with how I can force my body to keep pushing through a set when my muscles are saying “I’m done. Please God stop. You’re killing me and I’m going to fail you if you don’t stop now”. Then my brain kicks in says “Oh no you’re not. You’ve got three more to go, stop your crying and finish. You can and will do this! You can’t write a blog and claim shit you’re not doing”.  In the past when my body told me “enough”, my brain complied. Probably because I didn’t want to make an ugly strained face or grunt like a meathead. Hah That wouldn’t be very ladylike would it? Well, fuck being ladylike. Do you think those women with gorgeous athletic bodies are worried if their face gets contorted when they lift heavy? Probably not. I’ve never been ladylike anyway, who am I kidding. GET TO THE GOAL even if it’s ugly. No one is looking at you and if they are, they are thinking “Damn, she’s a tough cookie.” not, “Oh wow, her face is fucked up when she does that”.

The best advice is to stick with it! If it’s your first time doing a routine, almost any program will work for you. You just need to commit. Don’t weigh yourself every day. You might just have more water weight one day or maybe you lost a pound of fat, but gained 2 pounds of muscle. I also recommend taking frequent progress photos.  I took one Jan. 2013 and I look a lot different today. Glad I kept that ugly ass photo; it’s a good reminder.

Get Ugly!!

Wide-grip barbell bench press: 5 sets x 8 reps
45 lb. Olympic bar – 1 warm-up set
55 lbs – 3 reg sets, 1 set of negatives)
No spotter = no negatives so I just did the 1 warm up and 4 reg sets

Wide stance push-ups: 3 sets x 15 reps

Cable crossovers: 13 lbs each side – 3 sets x 10 reps

Incline bench press: 45 lb. Olympic bar – 3 sets x 10 reps

Side to side push-ups: 3 sets x 10 reps

Superset:
Toe touchers: 3 sets x 20 reps
Crunches: (legs straight in the air) – 3 sets x 20 reps
End of Superset

Roman Chair leg raise: 3 sets of 10 reps

Cable crunches: 90 lbs. –  3 sets of 10 reps

Extra Credit:

Russian Medicine ball twists: 12 lb ball – 3 sets x 20

Side bends: 25 lb. plate  – 3 sets x 12 each side

30 minute – medium intensity cardio (running, elliptical,
step-mill)

Leave a Reply

