Body Building – Legs – Day 41

Day 41

legs a

As I was looking over my workout prior to going in the gym today, I was a little overwhelmed at first due to the amount of exercises listed. It actually went by pretty fast. I guess I was in the gym for about an hour and half, but I was taking my time. You could blow through this in an hour if you were focused and only took your regular rest breaks. I stop and get water, wait for a machine to free up etc. so it took me a little longer.

I posted the above picture because I thought it was a great visual of the way your form should be during a deadlift. You should always make sure that back is straight with shoulders back. You have to be very conscious of your form during your set to avoid any injuries. I don’t normally correct people in the gym, but today I did. There was an older woman doing dumbbell squats and her butt wasn’t out far enough and her knee was going way past her foot. Her son told her what to do and then walked off. I was close by so when she finished her set I told her to watch herself in the mirror from the side and make sure her knee wasn’t going over her foot. She listened, smiled, and sweetly thanked me, then went on to do the same thing I just told her not to do. I had another gal approach me and say “a lot of people don’t know that” and it was great that I told her. If only she had listened. It’s bad form that is going to mess you up. If you like going to the gym and working out, then don’t screw yourself by getting an injury and end up out of the game for weeks or months waiting for it to heal. The best advice I can give is research how to properly do an exercise on either YouTube or Bodybuilding.com. I prefer to watch a video so I can see the form and motion the whole way through. Until you are comfortable with each exercise there is nothing wrong with doing your research.. It’s your body and your not doing yourself any favors by assuming you know how to do it the right way. From what I see at the gym about 30% are doing it WRONG. Feet going over the knees, using momentum to do roman chair leg lifts, jerking the weight during lat pull downs…wrong wrong wrong. Get it lighter, get it tighter, get it righter? 🙂 Work the muscle you intended to build, not use your whole body and get nothing out of the hard work you are putting it.

UP your game!

Superset:
Seated Leg Curl: 3 warm up sets at 30 lbs. x 10 reps
Seated Leg Curl: 3 working sets at 50 lbs. x 10 reps
Leg Extensions: 110 lbs. – 3 sets of 10 reps
End of Superset:

Superset:
Barbell Lunge (long stride): 30 lbs. – 3 sets of 20 reps
Abductor Machine: 35 lbs. – 3 sets of 20 reps
End of Superset:

Superset:
Lying Leg Curls: 45 lbs. – 3 sets of 15 reps
Adductor Machine:35 lbs. – 3 sets of 15 reps
End of Superset:

Stiff-Legged Deadlift: 70 lbs barbell – 3 sets of 10 reps
Single Leg Barbell Squat: 30 lbs. – 3 sets of 10 reps
Sitting Leg Press (wide stance): 1 giant drop-set to failure – 200 lbs, I got to 40 reps
Seated Calf Raise: 45 lbs. – 3 sets of 20 reps
Standing Calf Raises: 130 lbs. on a leg press machine – 3 sets of 20 reps

Holy crap, I had 1,179 views on yesterday’s post. Yay!

hots

Leave a Reply

