Body Building – Back/Rear Delts – Day 48

Day 48

rear delt

Today I couldn’t do my reverse flyes or my bent-over rear delt flyes. Wah! My rotator cuff on my right side was bothering me so I decided not to push through it and cause an injury I may regret later. It’s disappointing to grab weights, get into position and only do one rep. I do need to look into some rotator cuff specific exercises and make sure I am adding them into my routine more. I don’t want this to become an issue.

I went to bodybuilding.com and found this.
http://www.bodybuilding.com/fun/criticalbench24.htm

Looks like I need to add in some Cuban Press Rotations, Cable External Rotations and some Cable Internal Rotations. All of which I never do. The truth is that because those muscles are so small, we tend to forget about them. We concentrate on what we are building for aesthetics and not what’s important for health. It doesn’t take much time and/or effort to train them adequately. A few minutes per week are all they need to stay healthy and ready for the rigors of the more “important” training of the superficial muscles. If we slow down long enough to focus on the minor, finer muscles, the major muscles will forever be grateful — and grow. I need to remember this…

Delt Demolition!

Barbell Deadlifts: 70 lbs. – 4 sets of 8 reps

T-bar row: Olympic bar plus 25 lb. plate – 4 sets of 8 reps

Wide-Grip Lat pulldown: 60 lbs. – 4 sets of 8 reps, last set is a drop-set (went from 60 to 50 and did an additional 15 reps. in drop-set)

Seated cable row: 50 lbs. – 4 sets of 8 reps, last set is a drop-set (went from 50 to 40 and did an additional 8 reps. in drop set)

Straight-arm pulldowns: 30 lbs. – 4 sets of 8 reps

Reverse flyes: 4 sets of 8 reps – only did one rep with a 12.5 lb. dumbbell

Bent-over rear delt flyes: 4 sets of 8 reps – only did one rep with a 12.5 lb. dumbbell

Extra credit/Punishment for fly failure: – 3 sets of 13 push ups.

Cardio: 30 minutes medium intensity cardio (running, elliptical, step-mill, etc…)

Leave a Reply

